Officially named “El Palacio de Santa Catalina de Alejandría” (the Palace of St. Catherine of Alexandria), La Fortaleza is the oldest state residence of the New World still in use. This executive palace conserves traditions such as candlelit-only dining rooms and original Spanish objects from the colonial era.
Seminario Conciliar de San Ildefonso
The original building was completed in 1832 and it was commissioned by the first Puerto Rican Bishop, Fray Juan Alejo de Arizmendi. The seminar became a cornerstone in the development of public education in Puerto Rico, under the long teaching tradition of the Catholic Church. The Dome at the Chapel is a work of art worthy of a visit.
Puerta de Agua or Puerta de San Juan
The Puerta de San Juan is the most colorful and known of all the entrances to the walled city. It was the main gate through which the priests and governors made their entrance to their investiture ceremonies.
Department of Treasury Annex
Located in the main square Plaza de Armas, it served as the depository of the royal treasure in the island. It was also the first headquarters of the provincial deputation that preceded the modern-days legislative branches.
Iglesia San Francisco
The Iglesia San Francisco was one of the first sanctuaries to be elevated in Puerto Rico. It is the best-preserved church in the island and it still maintains the niches of people that were buried there back in the day.
Also known as the municipal coliseum, this architectural gem was built in 1832 and named after Alejandro Tapia y Rivera, the father of Puerto Rican literature. It is the oldest permanent theater in Puerto Rico and among the oldest free-standing stages still in use under the U.S. flag.